Confederate States of America collection, 1850-1876 and undated

Browse all 2 Items

Source Collection

This digital collection comprises selected materials from the following archival collection at David M. Rubenstein Rare Book & Manuscript Library:

Confederate States of America collection 1850-1876 and undated

Collection #RL.00252 | 17.5 Linear Feet; 13160 Items

The Confederate States of America (CSA) was formed in 1861 by eleven states in the southern United States that declared secession from the U.S. in order to protect their right to own slaves. The CSA collapsed in 1865 after its defeat in the American Civil War by Union forces. Collection was assembled from various sources and includes a variety of materials originating from administrative bodies within the Confederate States of America, including the Army, Executive Department, Congress, state governments and agencies, and the Navy. In addition to official records, the collection also includes some personal correspondence and miscellany.

Collection Guide »

Some materials and descriptions may include offensive content. More info